Florida imposes strict penalties for Driving Under the Influence of alcohol. A DUI conviction can result in jail time, costly fines, and the suspension of your driver’s license.
If you are facing DUI charges in Florida, be aware that your Blood Alcohol Content at the time of your arrest could have a significant effect on the outcome.
Jail time and financial penalties
In Florida, the legal limit for BAC while operating a vehicle is .08. When a person’s BAC is greater than .15, statutory law escalates the degree of an offense.
The duration of a jail sentence may be 50% longer for an aggravated offense. In addition, court-ordered financial penalties might double. A first offense could subject you to a fee between $1000 and $2000.
Revocation of your driver’s license
If DUIharges go forward, the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles can revoke your driver’s license for 180 days. This period could be longer if charges include a high BAC or other aggravating factors such as bodily injury or property damage.
It may be possible to preserve your right to drive for business or employment purposes by participating in the FLSMV’s Ignition Interlock Device program. After a first offense with a BAC over .15, use of an IID may be mandatory for six months. After a second offense with a high BAC, this restriction could remain on your license for two years.
Ultimately, it is important to take charges involving a high BAC seriously. A conviction could carry severe consequences.