Like many states, Florida has ignition interlock device laws as a potential part of DUI sentencing. In certain instances, the State of Florida may require you to install an ignition interlock device in your vehicle if you wish to drive.
Understanding the ignition interlock laws is paramount if you are going through the DUI arraignment process. According to the Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles department, it is possible for the court to order you to install an ignition interlock device on a first conviction.
When would I need to install an ignition interlock device?
If your blood alcohol level (BAL) is 0.15 or above or there is a minor in the vehicle on your first conviction, Florida courts will require you to install an ignition interlock device for at least 6 months. It is also possible for the courts to require this for other reasons, even if your BAL was lower than 0.15.
If it is your second DUI conviction, you must have an ignition interlock device for at least one year. If your BAL is 0.15 or above or there is a minor in the vehicle on the second conviction, the required period of time is 2 years. For a third conviction, the required period os 2 years. On the fourth or subsequent convictions, you must have an ignition interlock device for 5 years.
What if I cannot afford an ignition interlock device?
One of the biggest problems that individuals have with the ignition interlock device system is the cost. It is possible that the courts will order that part of your fines will go toward the ignition interlock fees.