Florida considers robbery a violent offense due to the threatening nature of the crime.
Due to the characteristics of these charges, a conviction can lead to severe penalties.
What is a robbery offense?
While the legal crime of theft involves taking something without permission, Florida defines robbery as taking property or money from someone by using threats, violence or force.
Is robbery a felony in Florida?
Both armed theft and simple robbery without using or possessing a weapon are felony offenses in Florida. Understanding the laws and your defense options is vital to avoid significant and life-changing consequences, such as costly fines, jail time, and loss of certain rights.
What are the penalties for robbery convictions?
The consequences of a robbery charge depend on the force of violence used during the theft:
- Armed robbery charges are 1st-degree felonies involving the use or possession of weapons.
- A robbery that does not include a weapon can be a 2nd-degree or 3rd-degree felony, punishable by fines up to $10,000 and prison time up to 15 years.
- A conviction of robbery with a deadly weapon can result in life imprisonment.
Additionally, you may receive harsher penalties if you have prior convictions, inflicted bodily harm on the victim or committed other crimes during the robbery.
In addition to years in jail, a felony conviction alters your life in many ways by damaging your ability to find work, get an education, access financial opportunities and more. It is crucial to have extensive knowledge of and experience with Florida laws to determine your best defense.