If you’re interested in growing marijuana in Florida, take the time to learn more about the penalties associated with cultivation. The penalties for cultivation of marijuana in Florida often depend on the scope of the operation, but this is still a felony offense. At a minimum, there will be serious criminal charges and significant fines to pay for growing marijuana in this state.
Understanding more about cultivation
Under Florida state law, cultivation is defined as manufacturing or possession of a controlled substance containing cannabis with the intent to manufacture it. The term manufacturing is further defined as the growing, cultivating, compounding, propagating, production, packaging, labeling, processing or conversion of a controlled substance either indirectly or directly. These marijuana crimes may occur through the process of chemical synthesis, extraction or a mixture of both.
Penalties for cultivation in Florida
Cultivation of fewer than 25 plants qualifies as a third-degree felony, carrying a maximum sentence of five years and $5,000 in fines. Cultivating 25 to 300 plants is a second-degree felony, carrying a maximum sentence of 15 years and up to $10,000 in fines. With 300 to 2,000 plants, sentencing ranges from 3 to 15 years, and the maximum fine is $25,000.
Growing 2,000 to 10,000 plants may get you 7 to 30 years in jail and up to $50,000 in fines. If you’re charged for cultivation within 1,000 feet of a park, school or college, the felony offense has a maximum sentence of 15 years and fines up to $10,000.
Defending cultivation charges
If you have criminal charges related to growing marijuana in Florida, contact a defense lawyer. Your legal counsel may be able to investigate the charges, gather evidence and guide you through the legal process. An attorney may also help with lowering the charges, reducing the penalties or reaching a settlement with local authorities.