Your Future Deserves Protection

Florida 2019 marijuana law review

On Behalf of | Nov 14, 2019 | Marijuana Crimes

These days there are so many bills and laws containing marijuana legislation that it is sometimes hard to keep up. The state of Florida is largely known for its tourism. People who visit from states where medical or recreational marijuana are already legalized, may not realize that only medical is currently legal in Florida.

Let’s review the current offenses and penalties. There are several, all with varying degrees of sentencing guidelines. First, we will look at possession charges. In the state of Florida, possession of 20 grams or less of marijuana is considered a misdemeanor charge, and can result in up to one year incarceration and up to a $1,000 fine. Possession of more than 20 grams but less than 25 pounds is a felony. It carries a sentence of up to five years of incarceration and a maximum $5,000 fine. The wide gap of more than 25 pounds but less than 2000 pounds are all considered felony charges. Sentencing for these amounts of marijuana can range from three to 15 years in prison, as well as carry a $5,000 to $25,000 fine. Possessing marijuana plants in any number will carry a felony charge and fines of $5,000 to $50,000.

Now let’s look at sales. If a person is caught in Florida selling 20 grams or less, they will receive a misdemeanor charge, up to one year incarceration, and a maximum $1,000 fine. 25 pounds or less is a 5 year felony and $5,000 fine. More than 25 pounds and up to 10,000 pounds sold results in three to 30 years incarceration with fines ranging from $25,000 to $50,000. The sale of 10,000 pounds of marijuana or more equals a felony with 15-30 years and $200,000 in fines.

Finally, either the possession or sale of any amount of marijuana in the state of Florida within 1000 feet of a school, college, park or other specified area becomes an automatic felony and 15 years imprisonment with a $10,000 fine. Obviously, there is a wide range of marijuana crimes that can be committed. If you or someone you know should find yourself facing one of these charges, consult with an attorney who may be able to negotiate a reduced sentence.