Brown, Suarez, Rios & Weinberg, P.A.
Free Initial Consultation | Se Habla EspaƱol
Attorney On Call 24/7 239-337-9755

DUI in Florida brings criminal and administrative consequences

Florida is one of the strictest states when it comes to drunk driving laws. If police recently arrested you for suspicion of driving under the influence of alcohol, you may have a long, complicated time ahead of you.

With each year, it seems that states pass new and tougher laws to keep drunk drivers off the road. However, no matter the circumstances that got you in this position, you still have rights. You can exercise those rights firstly by learning as much as you can about the criminal and administrative processes you are about to face.

Criminal penalties

If this is your first DUI arrest, you have the benefit of no prior convictions. Prior convictions quickly complicate your case because they can be more difficult to defend and carry much tougher penalties. With a first offense conviction, you already have the potential for some serious consequences, such as:

  • Jail for up to six months
  • Fines between $500 and $1,000
  • Vehicle impoundment for as long as 10 days at your expense
  • Other charges and fees related to your arrest and sentencing

Subsequent convictions quickly multiply these and other penalties. For example, incarceration for a second offense jumps to nine months, and fines double. Other factors, such as your blood alcohol concentration, a crash with injuries or death, or a DUI arrest while driving a commercial vehicle can make your situation very serious and potentially life-altering.

Your driver's license

In addition to the criminal consequences for a DUI conviction, you will face administrative penalties through the Florida Department of Highway of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles. This is a separate procedure that has no effect on the outcome of your criminal trial. Penalties generally include a six-month license suspension for a first offense with no aggravating factors. Each subsequent offense leads to a longer suspension.

You may request a hardship license if this is your first offense, but the state requires you to complete DUI school first. A hardship license will allow you to drive to work, but there is no guarantee the FLHSMV will approve your request. When seeking assistance with your criminal charges, you would benefit from an attorney who also has experience with the administrative process. Once you are under arrest, you have a limited time to schedule your hearings with the FLHSMV, so quick action is recommended.

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information
EMAIL US FOR A RESPONSE

Start By Discuss Your Case With An Attorney

Please Let Us Know Your Legal Circumstances

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information
disclaimer.

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.

close

Privacy Policy

Fort Myers Office
1532 Jackson St.
Fort Myers, FL 33901-2911

Phone: 239-337-9755
Fax: 239-337-9756
Fort Myers Law Office Map

Naples Office
3375 Tamiami Trail E
Suite 400
Naples, FL 34112

Phone: 239-963-9141
Fax: 239-337-9756
Map & Directions

Arcadia Office
4 W. Oak St.
Suite D
Arcadia, FL 34266

Phone: 863-494-5550
Fax: 863-494-5721
Arcadia Law Office Map

Sarasota Office
2075 Main St.
Suite 34
Sarasota, FL 34237

Phone: 941-575-8000
Fax: 941-575-8888
Map & Directions

Punta Gorda Office
265 E. Marion Ave.
Suite 114
Punta Gorda, FL 33950

Phone: 941-575-8000
Fax: 941-575-8888
Punta Gorda Law Office Map